Fresh Herbs

A fresh and fun recipe catalog by a girl who likes to play in the kitchen the "from scratch" way.

|MANGO TANGO| 07/04/2011

Filed under: Apps,CILANTRO,CORIANDER,fruit,Savory,Sweet — |FreshHerbs| @ 5:40 pm

Ah… mangoes on sale at the market. They’re packed with vitamin C and fiber, and a welcome departure from the norm. Oh yeah, and paired with cilantro? Mango-riffic!

Cilantro is, hands down, my favorite |Fresh Herb|. It smells great and tastes, well, I don’t know. The words that keep popping into my mind are fresh, bright, cool. Hubs and I enjoy good Mexican cuisine and I tend to gravitate toward anything with cilantro in it. Salsa verde? I’m in. “Fresh cilantro on that miss?” Do you even have to ask? Pile it on!

In fact, cilantro is typically a staple ingredient in Mexican, Asian, and Caribbean cooking (it grows wild in South East Europe…can you imagine!?). It is actually the leaves and stems of the coriander plant. Now coriander is an herb that I don’t typically cook with and frankly know virtually nothing about (except that I can thank it for cilantro). So, here and now I will promise to bring you something featuring coriander at some point in the future.

But now, back to mangoes. I love fresh salsa and make all kinds.  Salsa is my favorite recipe for nice, ripe mangoes. It goes great with chips and as a topping for broiled salmon. Is your mouth watering? No? Then re-read this post.

Meg’s Mango Salsa

2 ripe mangoes, medium dice
1/2 red onion, finely diced
1/2 jalepeño, finely diced
1 lime, juiced
1 handful fresh cilantro, chopped
1 splash of EVOO
pinch sea salt
a few shakes of fresh pepper

Mix all of this in a bowl and start eating!

Do you know the mango prep trick? It’s called hedgehogging [really]. I realize now that I should have taken a picture of this process {mental note}. But, dear reader, I’m not going to leave you hanging. I’ve gone and found a video for you!

Helpful Tool: I find that a mango corer is an insanely handy tool for prepping a mango. You won’t use it for anything else, but it takes up virtually no room so it is well worth having for just such an occasion [particularly if you plan to make mango salsa a lot, which you should]. Thanks to Laura for giving that to me many moons ago. The stone (seed/core) runs lengthwise and is rather flat. The corer gets around the stone without the waste you’d have if you just used a knife. But do what makes you happy.

 

Leave a Reply

