Fresh Herbs

A fresh and fun recipe catalog by a girl who likes to play in the kitchen the "from scratch" way.

|EASY CHICKPEA SALAD| 08/21/2011

Filed under: OREGANO,PARSLEY,Picnic,Savory,Sides — |FreshHerbs| @ 6:20 pm

I know, I know…it’s been way too long since my last post. I’ll simply say that this August has been rough and my focus has been elsewhere. I’ve not spent much time cooking, let alone eating, fresh and healthy meals. It has been a reminder that when you don’t feel well you tend not to eat well, and vice versa. I’ve also suddenly realized that it’s the middle of August and summer is winding down… but I have a week off coming up and I’m ready to nest and enjoy myself after weeks of running around and running myself into the ground.

With summer nearing its end, I’m obsessed with trying to grill outside as much as I can (until the propane tank runs dry anyway). No, this isn’t going to be a grill centric recipe, but rather a side dish that is a great compliment to a grilled piece of meat or burgers. I first found the recipe here when I was surfing TasteSpotting one day. I had all of the ingredients and was looking for something to do with my parsley that was abundant in my herb garden. I tweaked the recipe slightly to include fresh oregano and chickpeas instead of beans.

::Easy Chickpea Salad::

Mix the following in a bowl and enjoy. It is a bit tastier if you let it sit for a spell so that the flavors combine. It’s a great dish for a picnic because you don’t need to worry about refrigeration.

1 can of chickpeas (or white beans)
1 Tb evoo
1/2 tsp fresh lemon juice
small bunch fresh parsley
small bunch of fresh oregano (or 1/4 tsp dried)
1/2 tsp crushed garlic
s & p to taste

Cook often and eat well!

 

Leave a Reply

