Fresh Herbs

A fresh and fun recipe catalog by a girl who likes to play in the kitchen the "from scratch" way.

|BUFFALO GAL| 01/10/2012

Filed under: cheese,Salad — |FreshHerbs| @ 8:04 pm

I love anything buffalo. I’m a sucker for it…and I thought of this vinaigrette tonight while I was on the bike at spin class. I knew I should have a salad for dinner…but I really wanted buffalo chicken. No pictures for this one (because I ate it too fast)… but I wanted to remember how I created it.

Chicken Salad with Buffalo Bleu Cheese Vinaigrette
Serves 2 (can be modified based on need)

1 cooked chicken breast, sliced
1 head Romaine lettuce, washed and chopped
Tomato (any size)
Bleu cheese crumbles
1/2 sprig scallions, finely chopped (white parts and a little green)
2 Tb Frank’s Red Hot
1 Tb ketchup
EVOO
salt
pepper

Pile washed and chopper romaine on a plate and divide the sliced chicken between two plates. Add tomato to your liking. In a small bowl, whisk together ketchup and Frank’s, add scallions. Slowly drizzle in EVOO while whisking to emulsify. Add a pinch of salt and pepper and about 1 Tb bleu cheese crumbles. Pour dressing on top of salad and add a few more bleu cheese crumbles.

Very easy to adjust to personal taste. I add ketchup to cut the heat of the Frank’s.

Like wings…but healthier!

[Cook often and eat well!]

 

Leave a Reply

